h1

Does it Still Count. . .

February 3, 2007

if it is a day late? I missed the Silent Poetry Reading day in honor of Brigid but I still wanted to be a part of it. So I give you belated poems.

“In his drab gray overcoat,
unbuttoned and flying out behind,
a stocky, bullet-headed owl
with dirty claws and thick wrists
slowly flaps home
from working the night shift.
He is so tired he has forgotten
his lunchbox, his pay stub.
He will not be able to sleep
in his empty apartment
what with the neighboring blackbirds
flying into his face,
but will stay awake all morning,
round-shouldered and glassy-eyed,
composing a poem about
paradise, perfectly woven
of mouse bones and moist pieces of fur.”

~ Ted Kooser Winter Morning Walks: a hundred postcards to Jim Harrison

And if you are still with me, I offer you a poem of my own:

“an empty chair
sits in the dark
looking out on a winters nite,
the naked window
exposing a black portal
and the empty chair
offering a respite for scrying,
sit and gaze
or quietly walk past–
the future unfolds
regardless
if it is asked.”

~ Dawn Pietzsch on Winter Solstice 2004

Thanks for indulging me and my tardiness. Have a wonderful weekend, all.
Peace~ DAWN

3 comments

  1. I love your poem- thanks so much for sharing it!

    I am hoping you are the Dawn that left me such a wonderful comment about my Grandfather- because I want to thank you so much for your kindness and concern. It really does mean alot to me.


  2. it still counts. i’m still following links and finding new poems. it’s incredible and wonderful. your poems are great additions.


  3. it does count….really. It’s all being “collected” at http://pagantheologies.pbwiki.com/Silent-Imbolc-poetry-reading-2007
    please link there to your poems and site!!!!



Leave a Reply

