h1

The Bonesetter’s Daughter

February 12, 2007

I finished reading a really good book over the weekend. It was The Bonesetter’s Daughter by Amy Tan. It was the first Amy Tan book I’ve ever read. I picked it up at the Good Will store for .99 cents because I liked the title and the cover design. Yes, that is shallow, but sometimes that is how I pick books. I was pleasantly surprised after tht first few pages and thoroughly enjoyed it to the end. BookHere is a favorite quote from the book that appears toward the end: “you are beauty, we are beauty, we are divine, unchanged by time.” It came at a sad point in the book but I just love that quote. I really loved the portion of the book that goes back in time to a China that I have never known. It was a nice change from the types of books and authors that I usually read.

We had a really nice weekend. Well, I say we but I must exclude my middle son. He caught a terrible cold and spent the whole weekend in bed, sick. It probably didn’t even feel like he had a weekend when he got up for school this morning. Poor fella. We went shopping yesterday and I picked up a couple of mugs at the Disney store. Check these guys out:
Mugs Resized

Are they not fantastic!! Two of my favorites, the Cheshire cat and Jack and Oogie Boogie. I was so happy. I love the colors on the Alice mug. Glad it wasn’t pink.

And . . . just so you don’t think that I have been slacking in my knitting here is a work in progress picture of the scarf and the sock. Don’t get all misty on me…there is still a ways to go.
In progress
Hope you have a great start to your weekend. Peace~ DAWN

2 comments

  1. OMG!! I love the Cheshire Cat! Yay. 🙂 I mean, nice mug. lol


  2. Sounds like a good book. I just finished reading Bridge to Terabithia, a children’s book. My daughters class is having a get together to see the movie. I figured I should read the book first. My husband hates it when I do that. He says it spoils the movie. Anyway, the book was good. We’ll see if the movie is any good.

    I love the cups.



Leave a Reply

