h1

Swallowtail Shawl

March 27, 2007

I loved this shawl from the moment that I saw it! It was feminine and elegant and well, frankly, too small for my taste. So I made mine with sport weight yarn and size 5 needles and this is what I got:
Swallow Tail 1

Swallow Tail 2

Swallow Tail 3

Here are my specs:
Pattern Swallowtail Shawl from InterweaveKnits Fall 2006
Finished Size: 30″x 66″ after blocking
Needles: size 5 Addi Turbo circs
Yarn: KnitPicks Shine in Cream (either 4 or 5 skeins)

I followed the pattern exactly with no added CO and no added repeats. It is a cotton/modal blend and the weight of this shawl is wonderful. We took the photos at dusk so that you could see the color and the design better. I plan on taking it to Florida this summer. I am in love with this shawl! I think done in lace weight with added repeats to make it bigger would be awesome. I would make this again and recommend it to anyone who loves lace. The “nupps” which was basically purling 5 together was really a breeze. After reading so many experiences on different KALS I was a little queezy when I got to that part but found that by doing the “sk2p’s” very very loosly, I had no problems on the purl side. Here is one last look see:

Swallow Tail 4

Have a wonderful day!! Peace~DAWN

16 comments

  1. it’s gorgeous, dawn! I love it! that’s a pattern I think looks better in a heavier yarn than laceweight — which also makes it a better size. Gorgeous! 🙂


  2. Beautiful! Its absolutely awesome.. great job!


  3. Wow Dawn! That looks great! I loved knitting the Swallowtail Shawl too, but I never would have thought to knit it with Shine…I know it feels heavenly.


  4. This turned out just beautiful, Dawn, congratulations on a wonderful finish. I love the color, and the size looks perfect. Well done!


  5. Wow, that is absolutely gorgeous!


  6. You did an excellent job. Its beautiful.


  7. The shawl is awesome!! You did a fantastic job.


  8. That is just the right size. The next time I make a Swallowtail, I will follow your lead.
    Beautiful.


  9. It’s absolutely beautiful. I was wondering what you would say about the nupps, and am glad to hear that they’re manageable with some forethought. I love the yarn, I used it once for a tank top, and it’s so nice against the skin.


  10. I am so very, very, very impressed! It is beautiful! You must be so proud! And did I mention how impressed I am??


  11. straight up… GORGEOUS…. love it! (i’m so jealous, i cant WAIT to try my hand at lace & not rippit after a row) hah!
    nice nice work!


  12. Dawn, I am so in love with your shawl. When the temps warm up I always run around with a shawl to keep me warm in the air conditioned indoors. Yours is beautiful!

    Glad to see that you liked the Daily Om. I get a message everyday in my e-mail box. It never fails to be exactly what I need to read.

    Cindy


  13. Girl, this is so cool!! I love that you modified the pattern, it turned out great – looks amazing on you!!


  14. Very, very impressive!


  15. Wow, that is gorgeous! Beautiful work.


  16. Wise choice, altering the yarn and needles. It turned out beautifully!



Leave a Reply

