h1

FO and FB

April 3, 2007

I finished an object and I finished a book. How about that for productivity.
The book was The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield. I will be honest, I bought the book because I loved the cover. Yes, I am one of those, I am easily distracted by shiney, pretty things. I did read a few reviews on the book before I forked over the money and it sounded very interesting. The writing is wonderful. She surely can tell a story. The story itself started to lose me about 3/4 of the way in. I found myself thinking, “get on with it already”. It had a tendency to be flat in some places. Instead of letting the story tell itself she sometimes stated the obvious like she was getting bored herself. Like, instead of discribing something she just flat out told you what it was. Anyway, I would give it a *** out of 5.

The finished object are a cute pair of baby socks! a co-worker and my bosses daughter are pregnant. That means I get to perfect my baby knitting. How exciting. The pattern is North Country Baby Socks. I used some leftover Lornas Laces from a pair of socks I made for myself. I love this yarn!! it is so damn soft and you can wash and dry them in the washer and dryer (duh). That is a bonus for baby items.

p1010324.jpg

It is a gorgeous day here!! I mean– 80 degrees, no clouds, mild breeze. Heaven! alas, it will be gone by tomorrow. They are talking about a cold front moving in and bringing freezing tempts at night and 50’s in the day for the rest of the week and weekend. Crap. I was so loving this early summer like weather without the southern humidity to drag it all down. Pooh.

8 comments

  1. I was planning to read this book at some point. Thanks for the forewarning. Your baby socks are adorable!


  2. The socks are so cute. A great baby gift.

    I think I need to go check the weather forcast for here. I haven’t looked at it in awhile. I wonder if that front is suppose to make it down this way.


  3. those socks are so cute! 🙂


  4. That is my favorite baby sock pattern, I’ve made a few and love it–congrats, those are too sweet! I actually enjoyed the Thirteenth Tale, I was lured in by the cover as well, while I didn’t find it an incredible read, it was enjoyable. My favorite quote from it:

    “My gripe is not with lovers of the truth but with truth herself. What succor, what consolation is there in truth, compared to a story? What good is truth, at midnight, in the dark, when the wind is roaring like a bear in the chimney? What you need are the plump comforts of a story. The soothing, rocking safety of a lie” (p. 5).


  5. Pretty socks!


  6. Super cute booties. I love making baby gifts! Thanks for the review on the book I was thinking about picking that one up and reading it before I leave but now I think I’ll stick to the pile I have. 🙂


  7. those are sooo cute ~ what a great idea for using leftover sock yarn (i had to go off and print out the pattern!)

    i love lorna’s laces, such lovely yarn!


  8. Such cute socks! I’ll have to check the pattern out. I enjoyed The Thirteenth Tale quite a bit. Diane Setterfield can write beautifully, and she certainly pays homage to a beloved genre of literature. I agree that the last 1/4 of the book dragged a bit, but the beginning was so good that I would still give it **** out of 5.



Leave a Reply

