h1

Do I Dare You?

May 5, 2007

Want to dazzle that special someone with a gauzy piece of your affection? how about make that co-worker green with envy? or just render speechless the average passerby? well, how about daring to make a piece of lace this summer. Like the SEA and SHELL STOLE from Posh Knits (it’s there, just scroll down a bit). It is a combo pattern of Eunny Jang’s Print O’ the Wave design and a modified razor shell border by Val Campion.
It is elegant and perfect for that lace weight yarn you have been holding onto for the “perfect” pattern. I started mine yesterday afternoon and after 3 beginning attempts (no fault of the pattern, simply my inadequait ability to get my tension right) I have one and a half completed repeats.
lace-_1.jpg

The picture was taken after I quickly pinned it to my chair. You get the idea. The yarn I am using is from Handpainted Yarn and it is hand dyed wool. 850 yards for less than 6 bucks AND it is sturdy and soft. They color is very dark so I took the photo in the natural morning light so you could see th variations in color and get a feel for how it actually looks. In indoor light it looks rather blackish.
handpainted-lace-yarn.jpg

So, what do you think? are you up for some lace this summer? you don’t have to do a big stole or shawl. A scarf would work perfectly well. Oh, and before I forget. . . it is a good excuse to buy blocking wires. Oh yes, ma’am. I am done with gobs of pins and uneven lines. I am making my knitting life easier and investing in this little beauty.

Grab some lace weight (if you dare) and a pretty pattern and get to it. The weather is getting warmer and you need a challenge. It will help keep you young (I will keep telling myself that as I sail through this pattern-hehe).

Have a great weekend!!

10 comments

  1. The call of handpaintedyarn.com got to me and I ordered 2 skeins of lace weight hand-painted yarn for myself.. when it came in I looked at the gorgeous colors and wondered why I bought lace weight yarn when I can’t stand knitting lace. I’ll take you up on your challenge if you pay for my therapy bills from the madness that ensues from me attempting a lace chart. hee hee.


  2. I don’t take your challenge, since I already have three lace shawls waiting till I have recovered from my Hush. However, that yarn is wonderful!! I can’t wait to see your finished shawl – I am off to knit lacey socks for a bit!


  3. Love it! I’m going to do the lace top from Vogue knitting for my summer lace (plus lacy socks. Do lacy socks count?)

    -C


  4. Ooh, yeah, I have lace planned 🙂 I have on the needles but not back up to the first lace repeat yet the candle flame wrap that’s free from Knit Picks, and I also bought their Janet lace shawl pattern when I ordered yarn from them. And besides the yarn for those two (variegated reds/browns for the candle flame, variegated reds/purples for the other) I have some wine-red laceweight that hasn’t told me what it wants to be yet–it’s petting yarn right now.


  5. I just might join you for a round or two of lace knitting this summer, since my lace knitting project is just sitting and waiting. I also am working with the laceweight from handpaintedyarn.com I love the slight color variations. Your color is beautiful!


  6. The yarn is beautiful. And the shawl – wow so many YO’s. They are always killing me. I don’t know why, but I forget them so easily. I have to finish my Magic Mosaic square in the next 3 month, but I’m planning on knitting some lace as well! ;o)


  7. ohhh, dawn, I love it! 🙂 the yarn and the pattern!

    I started knitting the Icarus shawl back in March [?] on laceweight… not sure where it is now though, I sorta put it down for a while. Hee. I should find it and knit some lace in laceweight with you! 🙂


  8. Oo! Pretty! I’m dazzled!


  9. LOL you’re making it sound so tempting. But I’m terrified of lace knitting! Yours is delightful.


  10. i’m terrified of lace knitting too, but that link you posted is to die for. i can’t see what comes off your needles with that beautiful yarn!



Leave a Reply

