h1

Fern Socks

May 14, 2007

These little beauties are hot off the needles and ready for show:
panda-socks-1-rs.jpg
Here we go with an over abundance of sock photos so prepare yourselves.
panda-socks-2-rs.jpg
And because that isn’t enough how about this shot:
panda-socks-3-rs.jpg

Okay, lets get the stats down.
Pattern: my own. Come on, lets face it…once you knit socks any basic pattern turns into “your own”. I CO 44, K1, P1 ribbing for 1 1/2″, Eye of the Partridge heel flap (my first time and I love it) and stockinette stitch till the toe, 16 stitches left, Kitchener stitch closed. Wah Lah.
Needles: size 3 (my favorite for socks)
Yarn: 1 skein of Crystal Palace Panda Sock yarn in “Fern” (yes, 1 skein)
Stars: ***** yes, I love these socks. It was my first time using this yarn (cotton, bamboo, and elastic) and it was very different from wool/nylon. They are super soft and comfy. I love ankle socks. I have a big problem with sock that slide down and for real people, you know that hand knit socks do. Even if it is just a little tiny bit, my super sensive skin preseves it and it drives me nuts. My solution: anklets. I get the pleasure of handknit socks without the OCD of reaching down and tugging them up. Okay, since I know you can’t get enough, here is one last shot:
panda-socks-4-rs.jpg
Oh, the weather is beautiful and I hope it stays for a long, long time. Have a good one everybody!

14 comments

  1. Those socks are awesome, I love the colors.


  2. Great socks! And a lovely porch too!


  3. wow, love those socks and the photos….you can never have too many photos!


  4. Dawn to the rescue! I have been looking at sock patterns this morning trying to figure out ‘that fancy heel flap’ that I have never attempted and wanted to try, but was unable to remember the name of. Enter this well timed post! Thank you thank you!
    I love your socks by the way, the color is very springy. I see the ‘new car smell’ has not worn off that lovely patio furniture.


  5. Love the socks and the fact that they are such a quick and welcome distraction to lace knitting!


  6. Love the socks.


  7. Hey! My name is Fern, and I *love* those socks. There must be a connection. 😉


  8. Cool socks! Love the colorway.


  9. I want cool anklets.
    giv me, giv me, giv me…
    nice colorful socks.
    I mean come on, you must have a million socks by now.
    you couldn’t possibly wear them all.

    here’s a dare…make some some of those toe socks your so fond of. 😉


  10. so pretty!


  11. Ooooh. Purdy. I like. Having short socks let you show off your tat’s, too.


  12. I love those socks, very springy!


  13. Oh, nice socks. Have you worn them yet? I’m interested in hearing how they wear. Do they seem warm? Would they be good for say Florida weather :)?


  14. Gorgeous socks! They look perfect for warm weather, and the colors remind me of a rainforest.

    BTW, I can’t believe that you love Gjetost! Most people have no clue what it is.



Leave a Reply

