h1

Memorial Day

May 28, 2007

I hope you all are enjoying the longish weekend. I know I am thrilled to have an extra day off to do nothing. I have gotten another 14 rows of my lace done and made some headway on another project. Plus, yesterday I finished a book. Woohoo! It only took me 3 years. I’m not joking. I started this book about three years ago on a trip to Las Vegas, got about 1/2 through, put it on the bookself and forgot about it. After finishing The Ice Queen a few weeks ago, I went to the bookself to pick out a new read and picked up the book and decided to finish it cause it really is fantastic. What is the book? Watership Down by Richard Adams. This book came to me all the way from England so it feel authentic to me. Anyway, this is a fantastic book. I never thought you could get so invested in the lives of rabbits. Richard Adams really brings these animals and their trials to life. The writing is very fluid and the stories within stories are great. He creates fables, gods, community, struggle. Read it, just don’t take 3 years to finish like me. Rating: *****

“At that moment, in the sunset on Watership Down, there was offered to General Woundwort the opportunity to show whether he was really the leader of vision and genius which he believed himself to be, or whether he was no more than a tyrant with thte courage and cunning of a pirate. For one beat of his pulse the lame rabbit’s idea shone clearly before him. He grasped it and realized what it meant. The next, he had pushed it away from him. The sun dipped into the cloud-bank and now he could see clearly the track along the ridge, leading to the beech hanger and the bloodshed for which he had prepared with so much energy and care.” pp. 425

Have a Heiny
Have a great day and enjoy all the people in your life. Cheers!
~DAWN

3 comments

  1. that beer and that tree look real good. you b*tch.

    anywho, i’m also reading a new book. A DIRTY JOB by Christopher Moore. from the get go, I’ve been enjoy it. I wanted something modern and entertaining. check it out.

    the bike shop is open today and I know a guy who works there. so I’m taking my bike and getting it fixed up (a tuneup for my bike), and maybe some laundry. that’s my big plans. cheers to you too.


  2. Watership Down is such a great book. I felt so emotionally invested in it as I read it; it’s definitely not a twee little story about bunnies.


  3. i read W.D as a child, but i’d like to give it another go as an adult so thanks for the inspiration to find it at the library!
    i love the last photo- that tree is incredible!



Leave a Reply

