h1

Summer Green

June 14, 2007

summer-green.jpg
summer-green-back.jpg

Specs:
Pattern: based on the Spring Fling top. I couldn’t figure out the instructions for the straps so I just made that part up as I went and it turned out great!
Yarn: Oh! My from Plymouth, 4 skeins
Needles: #11 circs (24 inch), crochet hook J for single crochet around arm holes
Rating: ***** I will definately make this again, probably several. It is Super Soft (feels like you are wearing nothing), nice drape, cool colors and the biggest bonus, it is low enough in the back to show off my tatt (smile).

love, love, love this poem:

Truth Serum
by Naomi Shihab Nye

We made it from the ground-up corn in the old back pasture.
Pinched a scent of night jasmine billowing off the fence,
popped it right in.
That frog song wanting nothing but echo?
We used that.
Stirred it widely. Noticed the clouds while stirring.
Called upon our ancient great aunts and their long slow eyes
of summer. Dropped in their names.
Added a mint leaf now and then
to hearten the broth. Added a note of cheer and worry.
Orange butterfly between the claps of thunder?
Perfect. And once we had it,
had smelled and tasted the fragrant syrup,
placing the pan on a back burner for keeping,
the sorrow lifted in small ways.
We boiled down the lies in another pan till they disappeared.
We washed that pan.

15 comments

  1. really NICE job on the top & the color looks great on you (nice ink too) 😉 and i’m so impressed you can remember what you did w/the straps to do it again….

    glad you got the last package & liked it… totally enjoyed this whole exchange!

    😉


  2. Super cute on!


  3. What a great top! I really need to start looking at making some summer tops.. I’m sort of stuck on socks lately.


  4. What a great fit! Looks comfortable too!


  5. Oh my! *g* it looks great on you! And of course I love the color =) Now I’m off to hunt down that yarn because I so want to make a summer top, and if it’s that nice I want me some of that!


  6. Wow…you did a great job!


  7. First off, the top is awesome! I love the shaping of the straps and the color is spot on for you. Secondly, the poem is great. I also loved Watership Down (I forgot/was perhaps too lazy to comment on that post).


  8. What a lovely tee and wonderful pic of you! Nice job!


  9. Nice summer top, you did a great job especially with the straps.


  10. you know my size and the colors that I like or look good on me. and that picture of you is great. it’s real and I could see everyone mixed in you. mom,dad,me and all the sibilings. I love it and want a copy. you look so happy and relaxed.


  11. I love the top. You did such a great job. The color looks fantastic on you.


  12. Oh, that is a beautiful top. I also adore your back tattoo. 🙂 Happy Weekend!


  13. Congrats on the fantastic top, I just might have to try this one!! It looks great on you and I LOVE your tattoo–especially the triad in the middle. My brother has started doing tattoos and I’m trying to get up the gumption for a small one.


  14. beautiful top- and it looks SO great on you! gosh you are photogenic!


  15. I love that top! Also, great tattoo 🙂 (I’m saving up a few pennies here and there for my next one, maybe in a year or two…)

    Hope you’re having a great vacation!



Leave a Reply

