h1

It’s a Green Thing

June 17, 2007

I’m not sure what is happening around here, but I have noticed lately in my photographs that there is a lot of green going on. Well, it seems a shame to break the cycle just yet so let’s just keep it going. I saw the cutiest pattern on the Purl Bee website and had to make it. You see, I have a weird draw to FROGS. I have one tattooed on my ankle and I have a growing collection in my house and at work so this project screamed for me. It’s the Purl Frog.

p1010736-rs.jpg
p1010737-rs.jpg

My kingdom for some stuffing!! I made this little guy thinking I had a pound of flaxseed I could use for stuffing. Nope. Any lentils? nope, and pintos are way to big. So, he lay flat for a bit until I remembered that I had some plastic pellets! Yay!!!

p1010739.jpg

p1010740.jpg

Now that is better. I used some wooden beads for his eyes and then. . . my oldest son claimed him. Hmp. Well, you can’t get upset when a 19 year old man wants your frog, can you? This little guy worked up so fast! and was so fun (the trickiest part was turning those skinny legs inside out). I can easily make more (and I will) plus I will enlarge the pattern a bit for a bigger frog. I want to try and make one that looks like my tatt.

18 comments

  1. Oh, very cute.


  2. that is too cute, Dawn! and I am amused that the 19yo son took it 😉 Now you really need to make another for yourself. 🙂


  3. My grandma has a couple of stuffed frogs like that at her house, I may need to make her one!


  4. This frog is just the cutest! When my kids where babies we had a frog, it was huge, the top was brown plush the belly was green fabric, and it was a pillow. You could rest your head on his head and his front legs got wrapped around your neck, very comfy! Haven’t thought about this pillow in ages.


  5. PS. I find the first picture hilarious!!! ;o)


  6. He’s cute!!


  7. That first pic is the funniest ever! lol Aw, that’s cute that your son want the frog. I don’t blame him, it’s the cutest thing. Hey, thanks for the link to Purl Bee’s site. I’m sure I’ll be visiting there often.


  8. awww.. cute!


  9. that’s awsome, and looks kinda like that old plasticy one you have. you still have that one I know. and thinking of that remindes me of ” I can fit in your pocket ” doll, for some reason. you ought to make a big froggy pillow, like Monika was talking about. sounds cool. he is pretty cute.


  10. Love the frog….and thanks for the link to the beautiful dresses!!


  11. I had to run away from the computer to make one, too. I also used plastic beads.

    You might try using a chopstick or the eraser end of a pencil to help turn the long legs right side out.


  12. Oops, forgot to say I love your two-toned guy!


  13. What a cute little froggy!


  14. Oh my goodness this is so darn cute. I am going to have to give this project a try. My daughter is also big on frogs.

    Alma


  15. That is adorable….and you didn’t have to “rip-it”!


  16. sweet little frog- i love him!
    do you know i have (and use, a lot) both of those green fabrics too?
    enjoy him! 🙂


  17. Very Cute. I have a pattern sinilar to that. I think I’ll make one today. Thanks for sharing.


  18. […] reading another blog yesterday, Wild Yarn. I saw that she had posted a pic of these cute little frogs that she mad and she alos posted the link to the pattern. So of course I just had to check it out. […]



Leave a Reply

