h1

Overwhelmed

June 19, 2007

Wow, people! I’m overwhelmed by the frog love! that is terriffic. I hope you all get a chance to make one or a dozen cause they are too damn cute.

Also, I got my invitation to join the folks at Ravelry! Yay! for me. I had to what about 6 weeks, I think from the time I registered. It is quite fun and has taken up most of my morning. I am still figuring out my way. I can do some things on the PC with it and some things on the Mac. Some of the links won’t come up on the Apple but I’m sure once all the bugs are worked out, it will be all good. In the meantime, I post part of something on the Mac and the other part on the PC. Whew! by the by, if you knit or crochet and haven’t registered yet, do it. Once you get the invite I swear you will love it. Organization without the fuss. Everyone keeps saying it and it is true.

We leave Saturday night for our 2 week VACATION to Florida! I can’t wait. That means this week is full of preperation. Cleaning, packing, washing, paying bills, getting lists together for my dad (cause he is watching the dogs).

Here is a treat for the hot summer days. When you don’t wanna have a steaming hot meal, why not have a salad:
p1010738-rs.jpg

This is the Greek Zucchini Salad with Crumbled Feta from the May/June issue of Vegetarian Times:
3 Tbs. lemon juice
2 tsp. grated lemon zest
1 clove garlic
1/3 cup olive oil
2 medium zucchini, peeled into thin ribbons (about 4 cups)
*you can also use yellow squash for added color
1 medium sweet onion, thinly sliced
1/2 cup fetta cheese
2 green onions, chopped
1 Tbs. fresh mint
1 Tbs. fresh parsley

Whisk together lemon juice, lemon zest and garlic in a large serving bowl. Gradually whisk in oil. Season with salt and pepper. Add zucchini and onion and toss to coat. Cover and marinate overnight or up to 2 days. Sprinkle with feta, green onions, mint and parsely just before serving.
**I served mine over lettuce with balsamic vinegar and grilled shrimp. I omited the mint, parsely, onion. You could add black olives and tomatoes.**

Very tasty. Enjoy your week!! (p.s. did you notice the picture is more GREEN-geesh, what’d I tell ya)
~Dawn

3 comments

  1. Man, I am starving now. That looks yummy! 🙂


  2. Yum! That looks really good. I happen to have a lot of zucchini right now.


  3. Congrats on getting to Ravelry! That salad looks delicious, I think I’ll try it (minus the shrimp, of course) and grill up the zucchini first–yum!



Leave a Reply

