h1

WIP before Vacation

June 20, 2007

Only 3 days till we are outa here for a couple of weeks! Woohoo! I will still get some blogging done cause we are taking the laptop and the camera, of course, so it will be like you are with me (not really). We are going to Florida and staying at the beach for a week and then going on to Orlando to stay with relative for 4 or 5 days and then heading back. On the trip I will be working on this little number:

dragon-scale-before.jpg

It is called Icy Blue Shell from July’s Creative Knitting mag. It should have been called the Dragon Scales Tank Top (I shall dub it that since mine is NOT icy blue). The Dragon Skin is awesome! there is a single panel of dragon skin on each side of the top and the double panel is down the front of the top. I love it, so far. Praying it will fit because once again, I went with a different yarn than was suggested. I do that. My gauge is right on, so things should be good. The yarn is from Knit One Crochet Two and it is 2nd Time Cotton. Get this: “2nd Time Cotton is created from new textile waste originating in the apparel and textile industry. Our 8-ply yarn is spun from this recycled cotton contributing to the conservation and global re-utilization of products.” I heart it so much because of that and because it is really soft and has a nice drape to it. 75% cotton and 25% acrylic in the color Atlantis. So, maybe by the time I get back I will have it completed and ready to wear.

Have a great day!

dragon-skin.jpg

9 comments

  1. 2nd time cotton was one of my first purchases at a “real” LYS but I still haven’t used it. I bought the “moor” colorway which was green, purple & off-white and its gorgeous.. Eventually I need to make a summer tank out of it!


  2. I don’t think so you will not be working on this because you will be laying on the beach getting a tan or walking the beach looking for sea shells that you are going to make something with. So don’t fib about working on your Knitting because both me and Dylan know a whole lot better, and so do your other boys, your Dad and even your sister.


  3. I love that stitch pattern, but so far I haven’t gotten around to actually knit it. Someday…


  4. Now I am going to have to go back and look through the mag again – your looks cuter then theirs!! I LOVE the colors in the yarn!


  5. WOW!


  6. beautiful- and i love that the yarn is recycled. my mum is also well-known for not being able to leave her knitting behind when on holiday- i’m sure she knits ont he beach in the middle of summer!


  7. okay… i love the look of that yarn, and also the whole “recycled” aspect of it rocks…ya think it’d work for baby stuff? hmmmmm i suspect some yarn shopping might happen today! haha

    have fun athe BEACH & that tank looks great…

    i wasnt too successful w/knitting by the pool the other day… between the sunscreen and my general sweatiness… wasnt pretty! haha


  8. Word of warning, most yarn sucks in the moisture when at the beach and becomes hard to slip off the needles ;). It also seems to like to roll around in the sand. Hope you have fun.


  9. Oo! That’s really lovely. Can’t wait to see the FO. Have a wonderful time on vacation!



Leave a Reply

