h1

Where I Work

September 6, 2007

I told you all last week of the move to a new place for the massage therapy business. I also mentioned pictures. There are no before pictures cause frankly, I was bone tired every day for 6 days running and it was all I could do to lift a paint brush let alone a camera. But, in lew of before and after shots I did take several photos of MY room. I must say, I love my room the best and I did a smashing job at dedorating if I do say so myself. I have made a few changes since these photos but nothing monumental. Mostly, a different lamp in the corner and in the other corner a stand with some peacock feathers and a picture of Midsummers Eve.

sd530414.jpg

If this photo intregued you then check out my flicker site for the whole thing (there are 7 shots). I took several shots so you could kind of get the feel for the room. Now, I ask you… wouldn’t you love to get worked on in this environment? Most of the work I do is intense bodywork (deep tissue/neuromuscular). This type of massage is not “relaxing” per say but the end result is relief from chronic pain and the ability for clients to get back to the business of their lives in a more functional manner and hopefully they incorporate better body mechanics and stretching to facilitate longer relief. Because the work is more intense than, say, a spa massage, a relaxing and safe environment is very important for the person to be able to relax and let go so I can do my job more effectively.

If you have never experienced a theraputic massage and suffer from chronic pain (or if you have never had a massage before! shame, shame) I truely encourage you to seek out a qualified massage therapist and spend the time and money on a holistic approach to your health. You have one body in this life and it is your responsibility to do what you can to keep it healthy and functioning. ***side note: finding a therapist with a touch that you like and that you are comfortable with can take some time. . . don’t be put off by a less than safisfying experience, keep looking, it is well worth it.

Okay, so that is Where I Work. Hope you liked the sneak peek. If you have any question feel free to ask and I will do my best to answer them. Otherwise, have a great day!
Peace~Dawn

10 comments

  1. the room is beautiful. nice color of purple. the bed sheet is throwing me off, but the room looks great. good job. i’m off to flickr to check out the rest.


  2. Beautiful room. I get massages, although not as many as I would like.

    Question, I have a chronic pain, C-4-5-6 issue-the deep tissue usually leaves me hurting for days afterwards and I tend to try and get one not too “deep” because of pain problems, is this normal?


  3. Dawn, your room looks so great. You did a fantastic job.


  4. You did a beautiful job on your room, I enjoyed looking at the pictures–that print of the mermaid is one I really like. Two questions from looking at them: a) what’s a salt lamp, and b) how did your mother influence your going into massage therapy?


  5. My brother is going to school for massage therapy. Which is exciting for me. I always wanted to learn the baby massage.


  6. This is a beautiful room. It’s relaxing just looking at it! ;o)


  7. A very calming room. You did a great job.

    Alma


  8. Very beautiful room. I get the deep tissue work for my fibro. As you say, it’s not exactly relaxing right then, but once it soaks in the relief is wonderful. I really wish I lived close to you so I could come somewere as beautiful.


  9. I love your room! My bedroom is painted almost the exact same shade of purple. It’s one of my favorite colors. I wish I could afford to get massages weekly, or at least monthly. People who have never had a massage do not understand, people who have had massages they know what I mean.

    your secret (for now) punk rock pal


  10. the space looks great! I used to get a massage regularly, you’ve inspired me to find someone locally to start up again!



Leave a Reply

