h1

Ceramic Tea Pot

February 22, 2008

 

I love tea. I have a few teapots, maybe 3. I tend to be partial to one over the others so I don’t go overboard on buying teapots. When I saw this one at the thrift store I was overjoyed. It is a pretty glazed green and had the cutest little froggy sitting on top of the lid. Hello, I love frogs so it obviously was meant for me.

Well, it was not meant for tea. Apparently the glaze is not food friendly because the two pots of tea I made in it came out with a very metallic taste and left a nice haze of “oil” on the top of my tea. Blah. I only had a few sips of each pot so I feel confident that the lead level in my bloodstream is pretty minute. I am disappointed because it really is a pretty pot but I guess I will just have to use it as decoration. If not somewhere inside than maybe outside when the weather warms up.

Cheers! ~Dawn

6 comments

  1. I saw the picture in the post, it is really a pretty pot, but I think it is a little big for tea.


  2. It is pretty even if you can’t use it to make tea!


  3. The frog is very cute. I can see why you like this tea pot. Too bad, it doesn’t work.


  4. you could even take it to work. kinda a ‘zen’ effect.


  5. To bad it’s not very useful for tea but it is pretty and can be useful in an artistic way.

    I love tea to, hate coffee but love tea.


  6. I actually have this pot and the cups that go with it! I bought it at a fancy boutique here in hawaii. Mine has always given me nice tea. Try scrubbing yours really well and then drop in your tea with nearly bubbling water. When the bubbles in your tea kettle are the size of shrimps eyes then you can pour it over the tea in your pretty frog pot. Dont use the frog pot to heat the water.
    cheers!



Leave a Reply

