h1

WIP the Lace Edition

March 6, 2008

lace-_3.jpg

This is the progress on the long lost lace project on the sidebar. I have made slow progress but it has not been abandoned. Fear not! I just need undisturbed time when working it because the repeats are not conducive to memory. Well, I am close to half finished with it.

shetland-triange-inprogress.jpg

Now, this is the progress on the newly started Shetland Triangle. I am really enjoying this pattern. Very easy to memorize and this yarn has such a nice weight and drape to it. It is some hand painted silk/rayon I bought on Ebay awhile ago and I got terrific yardage out of it. Something like 1200 yards or some craziness like that.

Now for a couple of add ons. First off congratulations to Christian Siriano for winning this season’s Project Runway. I love this guy and have been rooting for him since the beginning. So talented and confident at 21! BRILLIANT!! Second, did you notice the book in the corner of the Shetland Triangle photo? That is The Bastard of Istanbul by Elif Shafak. A wonderful novel that I started a couple of days ago. I love how the yarn and the book are a perfect match for each other. Let me just say that the Chapter titles are so wonderful in this book (ex: Cinnamon, Garbanzo Beans, Roasted Hazelnuts, Vanilla, Sugar, Orange Peels, Dried Figs to name just a few). Don’t they sound yummy. Makes me wanna eat. I leave you with this from the book:

With that Grandma Shushan took up her knitting needles and sat down. The first skeins of a cerulean baby’s blanket dangled from the needles with the initials A.K. woven on the border. There was silence for a moment as everyone in the room watched her hands move gracefully with the needles. Grandma Shushan’s knitting affected the family like group therapy. The sure and even cadence of each stitch soothed everyone watching, making them feel that as long as Grandma Shushan kept knitting, there was nothing to fear and in the end, everything would be all right.” page 52/53.

Enjoy the day and tonight, get LOST!!

7 comments

  1. Both your lace projects look fantastic! I’ve knit a scarf with sea silk once, which looked like you silk/rayon yarn, even the shinyness.


  2. You know.. I really wasn’t thrilled with anyone this season of Project Runway but I am actually really glad that Christian “the Fierce” won.
    Your shawl looks gorgeous.


  3. o0o0o Some day I will make a lace shawl. *sigh* Yours are prettyyyyy


  4. the lace is lovely!


  5. I love the Lace, the first one is my favorite though, I can’t wait to see the finished product!.


  6. Both of your lace projects look awesome! I really like the color in the Shetland shawl. That’s a nice picture you have showing the color.

    That book sounds interesting. I’ve always heard of people refering to knitting as therapy for the knitter, but I don’t think I’ve ever heard it refered to as group therapy.


  7. Ah ha! There is that mystery-where-did-it-go shawl! It is looking great Dawn.

    I love the colors in the Shetland Triangle.

    I agree about Christian and LOST…



Leave a Reply

