h1

Dawn’s Thorpe Hat

September 11, 2008

36/52: Dawn’s Thorpe Hat, originally uploaded by DawnsRays.

This is the hat the dawn built. I love this pattern. Okay, to be honest, at first I hated it. Why? have you ever tried to work with 4 dpn’s and one stitch on each of them and THEN try to increase. Insane. Until I got about 8 stitches per needle I was a pissed off mess. Then as it went on I began to feel differently toward Thorpe. So much so, this was suppose to be a charity hat and guess what- – – it’s not, it’s mine!

So, get out your #8 needles, grab some Casscade 220 and get busy people, the world needs more Thorpe hats in it.

** I knit the larger size on the 8’s with worsted weight and it fits my 20 inch noggin perfectly ** and is it just me, or do you feel like a dork when you say the word “thorpe”. Hm.

5 comments

  1. Well, I guess I’ll have to make one too. Isn’t it too loose with # 8 needles and Cascade 220? In any case, I love yours!


  2. Actually, the pattern is written for Malabrigo Chunky yarn and size 9 needles so I went ahead and did it just as written but with worsted weight and size 8’s because usually (for me) if the cast on is 80-85 stitches on size 7’s it fits me just right without being too loose or too tight. I figured I’d take a chance on the 8’s and mine turned out about 19 1/2 inches around.

    Hope that helps anyone reading this.


  3. That is awesome!!! Great color too!


  4. Ha! love that – the world need more Thorpe hats! well, if they are all as great as yours, you may be right 😉


  5. Ooh.. cool hat! Maybe if we make enough cold weather gear we can will the weather here in the South to turn cold!!! *sigh*



Leave a Reply

